UWO Model UN team wins big in Midwest competition


The UW Oshkosh Model UN delegation representing Indonesia holds up their award certificates.

Submitted news

The UW Oshkosh Model United Nations team received high honors once again in the 62nd Midwest Model United Nations competition on Feb. 23-28 in St. Louis, Missouri.

This year’s competition was the team’s first in-person since February 2020 when all competition was suspended or held virtually due to the pandemic.

Over 50 countries, represented by 30 different schools, competed in the competition, with Oshkosh representing Indonesia, Germany, Namibia, Argentina and Uzbekistan.

In total, the team was recognized by the conference with 23 individual and five delegation wide awards across the five countries, the most of any school at the conference.

Awards are designated by conference staff on the basis of country awareness, topic knowledge, writing, public speaking, consensus building and diplomatic negotiation. Additionally, the delegate’s choice award is chosen by peers in each committee based on who they think is the most knowledgeable and diplomatic.

The UW Oshkosh Model UN team

The UW Oshkosh team will continue their preparations for the National Model United Nations Competition in New York City, April 9-15.  You can follow the UW Oshkosh Model UN team on Twitter: @UWOModelUN.


  • GA1 – General Assembly, 1st Committee – Disarmament and International Security
  • GA2 – General Assembly, 2nd Committee – Economic and Financial
  • HRC – Human Rights Council
  • UNEA – UN Environment Assembly

Award winners include:
*All awards are achieved by efforts of the entire team*
Country Heads in Bold


  • Delegation-wide Award: Outstanding
  • Peter Herrmann (GA1): Outstanding Delegate, Position Paper, Delegate’s Choice
  • Patrick Remick (GA2): Outstanding Delegate, Position Paper, Delegate’s Choice
  • Gabriel Anderson (HRC): Honorable Mention Delegate, Position Paper, Delegate’s Choice
  • Grant Steffen (UNEA): Honorable Mention Delegate, Position Paper, Delegate’s Choice


  • Delegation-wide Award: Outstanding
  • Sami Christiansen (GA1): Outstanding Delegate, Position Paper
  • Jayme Baumann (GA2): Outstanding Delegate, Position Paper
  • Abby Tiedemann (HRC)
  • Sarah Fleming (UNEA): Outstanding Delegate, Position Paper, Delegate’s Choice


  • Delegation-wide Award: Distinguished
  • Trenton Korth (GA1)
  • Carrie Reed (GA2): Outstanding Delegate
  • Abbie Baker (HRC)
    Cole Schmidt (UNEA)
Sarah Fleming, in yellow, leads a group discussion.


  • Delegation-wide Award: Honorable Mention
  • Meg Traska (GA1): Position Paper
  • Savannah Bartelt (GA2)
  • Taeyeon Kim (HRC)
  • Dani Sawyer (UNEA)




  • Delegation-wide Award: Distinguished
  • Emma Sullivan (GA1): Honorable Mention Delegate
  • Mason Sada (GA2)
  • Ernesto Hernandez (HRC)
  • Cesar Morales Magana (UNEA): Honorable Mention Delegate