Meet the candidates for the election on November 6

Navigate Left
Navigate Right
  • Scott Walker

  • Tony Evers

  • Maggie Turnbull

  • Phil Anderson

  • Michael White

  • Arnie Enz

  • Tammy Baldwin

  • Leah Vukmir

Navigate Left
Navigate Right
U.S. Senator
Tammy Baldwin, Democrat

Baldwin was elected to the U.S. Senate on Nov. 6, 2012. She is the first Wisconsin woman and openly gay woman to serve in the U.S. Senate. In the Senate, Baldwin has worked to strengthen the middle class economy, has invested in education and workforce readiness, worked for quality health care for everyone, worked on building a strong manufacturing economy and on ensuring retirement security. Baldwin’s top priority is to address student debt and college affordability.

Leah Vukmir, Republican

Vukmir is a conservative from Madison, Wisconsin. She is pro-life and 100 percent pro-gun. Vukmir strongly believes in improving Veterans Affairs, placing stronger efforts toward homeland security, having tougher penalties for violent criminals, starting construction of a wall at the Mexican border and enacting a Balanced Budget Amendment to the Constitution. She also believes Obamacare should be repealed.

Scott Walker, Republican

Walker was elected as governor on Nov. 2, 2010. He has supported the Wisconsin Fast Forward program with the goal to increase jobs for the working class. Walker also proposed the 2011 Wisconsin Act 10 bill and he supports a tuition freeze. He has a four-act plan to support small businesses and has introduced legislation to support farmers. Walker supports the Second Amendment, is pro-life and works to increase veteran employment. In addition, he does not support Obamacare.

Tony Evers, Democrat

Evers’ priority is increasing funding in education, and he supports early childhood care, investments in technical and UW schools, faculty research and student loan refinancing. Evers’ other top priority is funding Wisconsin road work. He believes in opening access to affordable healthcare by accepting federal Medicaid expansion dollars. He supports racial equity, LGBTQ+ rights, natural resource protection, job creation, criminal justice reform, increased minimum wage and workers’ rights.

Maggie Turnbull, Independent

Turnbull is running as an independent because she does not believe in the two-party system. She believes in cleaning rivers and lakes, increasing road work, legalizing marijuana, forming a Statewide Commission for Equity in School Funding and implementing restorative justice programs. She believes in increased gun regulations, stronger science programs in pre-K and K-12 classrooms and elimination of excessive standardized testing.

Phil Anderson, Libertarian

Anderson believes in increased local control without interference from the state. Anderson supports eliminating the income tax, reforming the criminal justice system, rolling back federal healthcare and the federal welfare system and promoting a market economy free of government interference. He believes that private, public or no education systems should be available for everyone. He is pro-marijuana legalization and resists sending those in the National Guard to unconstitutional wars.

Michael White, Green Party

White focuses on social, economic and environmental justice. He is pro-marijuana legalization and believes in single-payer healthcare, increased public school funding, increased road work and pharmaceutical and drug reform. White believes in accepting no money from corporations, lobbyists or political action committees.

Arnie Enz, Wisconsin Party

Enz is running in the Wisconsin Party because he does not believe in the two-party system. His website states his three main platforms: taking back the government, reforming environmental policies and being kind. Enz supports comprehensive campaign and election reform funding, including voting district reform. He also supports environmental reform over economic reform.

Also on the ballot in the Oshkosh area:

— Attorney General: Democrat Josh Kaul, Republican Brad Schimel (incumbent) and Constitution Party candidate Terry Larson

— Secretary of State: Republican Jay Schroeder and Democrat Doug La Follette (incumbent)

— State Treasurer: Republican Travis Hartwig, Democrat Sarah Godlewski and Constitution Party candidate Andrew Zuelke

— U.S. Representative District 6: Democrat Dan Kohl and Republican Glenn Grothman (incumbent)

— Assembly District 53: Republican Michael Schraa (incumbent) and Democrat Joe Lavrenz

— Assembly District 54: Democrat Gordon Hintz (incumbent)

— Winnebago County Sheriff: Republican John Matz (incumbent)

— Winnebago County Coroner: Republican Barry Busby (incumbent)

— Winnebago County Clerk of Courts: Republication Melissa M. Pingel (incumbent)

In addition, two referendums will be on the ballot including the Winnebago County Dark Store Referendum, which asks whether the state legislature should propose legislation that closes the Dark Store loopholes, redistricting, asking if the state legislature should create a nonpartisan procedure for preparing a legislative and congressional redistricting plan.